Ήρθα, είδα, μου Κατακτημένα (I came, I saw, I Conquered)

Telemachos And Penelope. http://myweb.unomaha.edu. Web. Febuary 16, 2011

            Blood has been spilled in my presence. I’ve seen Trojan men falling out of existence, along with my fellow men following short behind. I, Odysseus am a fighter, a lover, and a friend. I can outsmart the smartest of the men. I’m agile like a deer, but strong like a grizzly bear. If I can live through the wrath of the gods, I can make it pretty much through anything. The only thing I long for in life is to see my beautiful wife Penelope. She means everything in the world to me. She is my muse, my lover, and my wife. Light compaction, forever young skin that’s blessed with a powder flawless composition. Our love is too strong to be apart for so long like we have been. Being in the war must have brought her grief and great sorrow. She might not even know I’m alive searching for my way home. Oh what horrible things I have seen on the long journey. All I want to do is be home, to raise my son.

            Penelope birthed me a son! I’m overjoyed, but sorrow quickly follows for the thought that I might never see my boy become a man. I left the day he was born to follow out duties, and this is what I get. But being king of Ithica has its charming benefits; everyone knows who you are, where you’re from, and who your kids are. I think he will be fine; I have a lot of people looking out for him. I will never be able to teach him the correct way to spar, and how to protect himself. I won’t be able to hold him when he’s scared; I won’t be there to show him how to be a real man. If he was truly my son, he won’t have the need to have me around. He must be handsome, just like his dad. Soon he will take my place as rightful king of Ithica, not one of those pompous suitors trying to steal what is mine. 

            I know my voyage is going to be long, and hard. I would have been home already; I wish my friends were not so curious, I told them not to look in the sheep skin. With the power of the north winds, I was blown far off course towards Ithica. To make it worse, I have the wrath of Poseidon and his sons on my shoulders, but I’m too cunning and a lot smarter than them. Physically I’ll weaken, but mentally I’ll just get stronger and stronger. Nothing is going to stop me from making haste back to Ithica where I belong. After everything that I’ve been through, and are possibly going to go through, I think I deserve it. Neither mortal, nor deity is going to stomp on my paradise. All I wish is to be back, on the sandy hot beaches of Ithica, playing toss the sheep stomach, and cuddling with Penelope for an eternity. Careful bliss and happiness. I don’t want to die alone, somewhere I can’t call home. I cry for my life back, I pray to Zeus and Athena, to take pity on my and please send me in the right direction to home so I can see my beloveds.

3 responses to this post.

  1. This is pretty intense. I am impressed by how you actually put yourself in Odysseus’s perspective.

    Reply

  2. I like how the post flows instead of you just telling what happens. It really seems like Odysseus wrote this because it is detailed good and seems real.

    Reply

  3. When i read this i feel like i am reading out of Homer’s book. Great job with the detail.

    Reply

Leave a comment