Μεγάλη Φιλοξενία (Great Hospitaltiy)

Greek Hospitality http://collectionsonline.lacma.org Web. 17, March 2011

     I, Odysseus, well-known for my bravery and my miraculous feats, skimming the surface of life and death expect to be treated as such when I’m visiting foreign lands. I want there to be clean robes, and fine silk linens awaiting my arrival. Upon surprise arrival I want haste to bring what I so desire.  I am a hero and I want to be treated with such honor.  I want young women to come and pamper my every whim. I want them to care for my wounds, and wash my body with the finest sea sponges. I also want a fairly large dinner consisting of at least one boar, the finest ripest fruits, and a cow leg. I also would want to drown myself in the finest earth blood that could be found. 

     When strangers come to visit Ithica, they would be treated as equals to my superiority. No man is unequal in possessions when they deserve it. I would treat my guests to the fattest boar on my land, along with finest cheeses, and endless waterfalls of wine. After that I would have my house maids’ beacon to every call. Men who pass through my land who deserve to be treated like kings will be treated like kings. If not, I will just them pass on without a second glance. I think some of the reason behind the way I portray hospitality, is Penelope. The suitors invaded my home, without my consent, and tried to take my wife! No woman in her right mind deserves to be treated like a piece of meat without a mere meaning in life. I don’t stand for disrespect, especially when it comes to my prized possessions. But if you’re a warily traveler, or soldiers at war, I wouldn’t have any problem sharing my hospitality.

Chapter 13 Quotes:
1.”Odysseus, having crassed the brazen threshold of my high-roofed house, you shall be aaided home with no more wanderings, be sure, long as you now have suffered. And this I say with earnestness to everybody here, yo you who in my hall drink of the elders’ sparkling wine and listen to the bard: you know that iin a polished chest lie garments for the stranger, with rich-wrought godl and all the other gifts which the Phaeacian councilors have brought him hither.” – Alcinous Pg. 123

2.”Soon would I do, dark-clouded one, all that you say, but that I ever dread and would avoid your wrath. Even now this shapely ship of the Phaeacians, returning home from pilotage upon the misty sea, I would destroy,-that they henceforth may hold aloof and cease to give men aid,-and I would throw a lofty mound about their city.” -Posiden Pg. 125

Chapter 14 Quotes:

1.”Old man, my dogs had nearly torn you to pieces here all of a sudden, and you would have brought reproach on me. Ah well! The gods have given me other greifs and sorrows; for over my matcchless master I sit and sigh and groan, and tend fat hogs for other men to eat; of men of alien speech,-if he still lives and sees the sunsine. But follow me, old man, into the lodge; so that you too, when satisfied with food and drink, may tell where you are come from and what troubles you have borne.”-Swineherd Pg.133

2.”Fetch me the best hog hither, to slaughter for the stranger who comes from far away. We too will have some cheer, who for a long times now have plagued ourselves over the white-toothed swine. Others devour our labor and make us no amends.”-Swineherd Pg.139

Chapter 15 Quotes:

1.”I shall not thrust you forth fromjt he trim ship agains your will. Nay, follow! In our land you shall receive what we can give.”-Telemachus Pg.147

2.”Sail the black-hulled ship, my men, straight to the town; I go to the fields and herdsmen. At evnin, after looking at the farm, I too will come to town. To-morrow I will make you payment for your boyage by a bounteous feast of meat and pleasant wine.”-Telemachus Pg.151

One response to this post.

  1. i love how your description actually tells a story, you really go above and beyond not only in your writing but in your detail. Good job on not finding the skimpy quotes you actually took your time to plot out what really fit the occasion. (:

    Reply

Leave a comment